## **College Football Divisions**

**JUCO** - has about 58 offering football and 2 years of undergraduate academic enhancement.

<u>NAIA - National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics</u>- has about 96 schools offering football that have a set number of scholarships or money that can be distributed based on athletic and academic performance to multiple players on the roster. Ex: University of Pikeville KY, Georgetown KY, Union KY, Kentucky Christian KY, Mount Vernon

<u>NCAA Division III</u> - has about 250 Schools offering football and offer no athletic scholarships, but about 80 percent receive aid in the form of academic performance grants or financial need-based scholarships. Ex: Mount Union, Ohio Wesleyan, Capital, Dennison, John Carroll, Wittenberg, Ohio Northern, Wilmington,

<u>NCAA Division II</u> has about 167 schools that are able to offer a set number of scholarships based on athletic and academic performance. Ex: Ashland, Findlay, Ohio Dominican, Urbana, Lake Erie, Tiffin, Walsh

<u>NCAA DI – FCS</u> - Football Championship Subdivision (Division I-AA until 2006) has about 125 schools – ex. Youngstown State, Dayton, Morehead, Eastern Kentucky, Valparaiso,

<u>NCAA DI - FBS -</u> Football Bowl Subdivision (Division I-A until 2006) has about 130 schools—ex. Ohio State, Cincinnati, Ohio, Toledo, Marshall, West Virginia, Kentucky, Louisville

Differences between **Division I** - <u>FBS</u> and **Division I** - <u>FCS</u>.

## 1. Scholarships

FBS teams are allowed 85. FCS teams are allowed 63, though some conferences allow fewer than that. The Ivy League, for example, doesn't have athletic scholarships. In FBS, every football scholarship is a full ride given to one player. In FCS, teams can split up the *value* of their 63 scholarships among up to 85 players, meaning some players have partial scholarships.

## 2. Season length

The FBS regular season is 12 games, plus conference championship weekend. The FCS season is 11.

## 3. Postseason format

FBS teams can play in bowl games, hence the *Bowl* Subdivision name. The FCS postseason is a 24-team playoff, in which eight teams get byes into the equivalent of college basketball's Sweet 16. Higher-ranked teams host until the title game. The NCAA runs this one, just as it does Division II's and Division III's and NAIA.

Players can transfer from one level to the other, and doing so avoids the usual one-year eligibility penalty when non-graduates transfer from one FBS school to another.

Each Level has a different set of requirements for student-athletes to be eligible out of High school. Highlights for eligibility requirements are provided on additional sheet and tab on the page. Student-athletes should have a plan established entering their freshman year of High school. College institution want to see that student athletes have challenged themselves, been successful in the classroom and can handle college level courses.